Transition Matrix

The Career Transition Matrix is based on two dimensions including Industry and Career and presents four main strategic choices, ranging from an incremental job change strategy in which professionals maintain their current career in current existing industry to a revolutionary strategy in which professionals change their careers and enter new industries. The four types of career transitions include Job Change, Industry Change, Career Development and Diversification. A description of each strategy is described in the following paragraphs.

Career Transition Matrix

Job Change 
In this quadrant, the professional searches for the same or similar career within their current industry of expertise. The career path remains unchanged and no new industry segments are pursued; instead, the professional repositions existing skills, seeks new promotions or otherwise tries to gain increases in salary by changing companies.

Industry Change 
Here, the professional repositions or markets existing skills , experiences and expertise to one or more new industry segments. The professional would try to find untapped verticals with a specific industry, explore new geographies or other new industries.

Career Development 
This quadrant involves finding a new career within an existing industry . The professional grows by acquiring new skills based on evolving interests or untapped skills and seeks to gradually replace old "skills" with new ones. The professional leverages industry contacts and knowledge to gain entry into new careers.

Career Transition (Diversification)
This quadrant entails the greatest risk; here, the professional acquires a new career in a new industry . The client seeks to develop new skills and knowledge to enable them to enter into a new career in an entirely new industry. The client would not possess any expertise in either the career or the industry.